Old Glory: Battle Standards for Warzone (Version 1.1) 

by T. Jordan "Greywolf" Peacock
with lots of help from the Target Warzone Mailing List 

The megacorporations of the Warzone universe are not merely businesses. Each one represents a different way of life for a large segment of the human populations of the terraformed worlds. In the face of the encroaching Darkness, mankind clings to symbols, even when they would logically seem to be nothing more than that: symbols. 

Thus it is that somehow the megacorporation forces of the future have somehow gone back to an old tradition of carrying their flags onto the battlefield. They serve as symbols of what the corporations stand for, and instill their respective troops with drive and renewed zeal to press on. 

Even the Dark Legion has its own sort of pomp and circumstance, as expressed in its own dark standards, often fashioned out of the flayed flesh of human victims. The Dark Legion has no need for a morale boost in quite the same way as humans do. Rather, the purpose of the dark standards is to demoralize the Dark Legion's enemies. Imbued with arcane properties and covered with wicked imagery, the  Legion standards inspire fear. 

BASIC RULES FOR STANDARDS 

* COST AND REPRESENTATION: A Battle Standard does not cost any points. However, you must represent the standard, either by altering a model, or else by making a "flag" that can be affixed to a model's base or positioned nearby. One way to represent the Standard is to make a flag of paper, with a toothpick flagpole, and use some putty to make a hand grasping it, replacing a figure's outstretched hand with a hand holding the flag. Another way is to represent the Standard by a stand-alone flag set on a plastic base that can be placed in base contact with the "bearer" ... or leaned against it. 

* WHO CAN BEAR THE FLAG: The bearer of a Battle Standard may be a squad member or an individual. It does not matter if you give your Standard to a squad leader, a regular grunt, a special squad member, or an individual, though the benefits may be greater or less depending upon your choice. 

* "LARGE" MODEL: A model carrying a Battle Standard is treated as if he were a Large Model for purposes of targeting. This means that an enemy can choose to attack the Battle Standard model even if there is a normal-sized model in the same squad who is closer. 

* RESTRICTIONS: The Standard Bearer may not Hide, Infiltrate, or Seek Extra Cover. The Standard Bearer may only fight with a one- handed weapon (such as a sidearm) and cannot make Sweep Attacks. 

* WHO CANNOT HAVE A STANDARD: A Battle Standard cannot be given to an AI, a vehicle, vehicle crew, flying models, models which are deployed in Hidden status, or models which have Commando Training or Stealth skills. It simply isn't appropriate to give a standard to a member of such a squad. Paratroopers, teleporters and models that are helicopter deployed, however, may have a Battle Standard. (It's assumed that they unfurl the flag once they land.) Medics cannot have Battle Standards -- using First Aid or Field Surgery demands all of the model's attention. 

* BEASTS: A Standard MAY be given to a beast-rider such as the Venusian Marshal. However, it may not be given to a beast itself -- such as a Dog from a Dog Soldier squad. (A dog waving Old Glory? Unthinkable! More likely that he'd use it as a chew toy...) 

* LINE OF SIGHT: In cases where LOS to the Standard is required to gain a benefit from it, the model does NOT have to be actually facing the Standard. It is enough that there is a "line of sight" between the Standard and the model. During the course of battle, the model can see out of the corner of his eye that the flag is still flying, for instance. 

* ATTACKING THE STANDARD: The flag itself is not harmed, per se, by bullets. When attacking the Standard Bearer with a conventional ranged weapon, line of sight to the Bearer is determined by how much you can see of the Standard Bearer model itself, not the flag. However, if you are using a template weapon that is capable of Indirect Fire (such as a rocket launcher or grenades), it is perfectly fine to target the Standard even if the flag is all that you can see; it is assumed that the grenade or missile is quite capable of hitting the Bearer standing right below it. Full/Partial Cover bonuses still apply, however. If you can see only the flag, but not the Bearer, then the Bearer is assumed to have Full Cover (-4 to hit) if you are using the Full/Partial Cover optional rules. 

* BONUSES NOT CUMULATIVE: Battle Standard Leadership bonuses are not cumulative. For instance, if you have an Imperial Corporate Standard which offers a +1 Ld bonus to all Imperial models in LOS, and you also have a Berserker Squad with their own Standard, you would simply pick the highest bonus that would apply to the Berserkers -- In this case, their own Standard. 

* POSSESSED MODELS: Models which are Possessed or Dominated do not gain a Ld bonus from a Battle Standard while they are so controlled. While under the command of the enemy, patriotism is the last thing on their minds as they shoot upon their fellows. This also applies to models with permanently-changed allegiance, such as a model Corrupted by a Nepharite of Semai, or a model turned into a Blessed Legionnaire or other undead monster. They no longer get Ld bonuses from the Standards of their former employers. 

* POSSESSED STANDARD BEARER: If a Standard Bearer is Possessed or Dominated temporarily, the flag still offers bonuses to the side owning the Standard, even though the Bearer himself does not get the Leadership bonus. Even if the Standard Bearer has gone nuts, at least Old Glory is still flying. HOWEVER, if the Standard Bearer is permanently Corrupted or otherwise turned to another side, under the basic rules, the Standard is no longer in play and has no game effect. (This is revised by the Advanced Rules detailed below.) 

* PANIC: As long as the flag is still flying, even if the Standard Bearer is panicked, or if the models within sight of the flag are panicked, the Standard still confers its bonus as normal. 

* LEADERSHIP TESTS: Where the bonus for a Standard is listed as being "for every model who has line of sight to the Standard", this means that the model itself gets a bonus whenever it is taking a test against its own Ld score. For any Leadership test that is based upon the highest Leadership of the squad, the entire squad gets the Leadership bonus even if only one squad member has line of sight to the Battle Standard. 

* MISHIMA BANNER POLES: As a special exception, Mishima handles their Battle Standards a bit differently. They put banner poles onto the backs of the armor of their bravest warriors. Thus, the Standard Bearer still has the use of both hands, and may be armed normally. However, the model may still not perform sweep attacks. 

BENEFITS OF STANDARDS 

* STANDARD TYPES: There are three types of Standards covered here: Unit Standards, Corporate Standards, and Dark Legion Standards. 

* UNIT STANDARD: A Unit Standard offers a +1 bonus to Ld of any squad member who is in LOS of the flag, in the same squad as the Standard Bearer. It offers no bonus to any model which is not a member of the same squad. If your force is allowed to have Unit Standards, then you can have as many Unit Standards as you wish, up to one for each squad that is capable of having a Standard. (As above, squads with Commando Training, Stealth, flight packs, AIs, etc., would not be able to have a Unit Standard.) 

* OPTIONAL RULE: As a special exception to the above restrictions, there can be a few models which can gain a bonus if they are in LOS of the Standard, because they are allied to the squad. This would include a Combat War Medic purchased for the Standard- bearing squad, or an individual of the same troop type who was purchased for the squad. For clarity, it is highly recommended that the War Medic and/or Captain/Hero be painted with the same squad insignia to make it clear their allegiance. If an individual or War Medic is "attached" to the squad, they can only gain the Leadership bonus from that squad -- no other. They can't "change allegiance" during the course of play. 

* UNIT STANDARDS AND INDIVIDUALS: It is acceptable to give a Unit Standard to an individual model. Unless you use the optional rule described above, the bonus would only be conferred to the individual himself -- It would be as if he's carrying a personal standard. 

* CORPORATE STANDARD: Some Corporations do not field forces with their own unit standards, but instead field a single flag that represents the Corporation as a whole. Only one Corporate Standard may be fielded per force. This Standard may be given to an individual or squad member. The Corporate Standard confers a +1 bonus to Leadership to all members of the same Corporation in LOS to the Standard. THIS DOES NOT APPLY to Freelancers, Dark Eden allies, or any sort of Seconded individuals (such as Brotherhood models added to a Corporate force). It also does not apply to members of another Corporation in a scenario where you have multiple armies working together. Patriotism has its boundaries. 

* DARK LEGION STANDARD: Dark Legion Standards are treated as Unit Standards, with the rules listed above, except that they do not confer a Leadership bonus. Rather, any squad with a Dark Legion Standard flying is treated as if all of its members cause Fear, as described in Dawn of War. 

* DARK LEGION VS. DARK LEGION: This Fear is treated normally when applied to non-Dark Legion forces. However, when a Dark Legion Standard is carried into battle against another Dark Legion force, the Fear effect counts EVEN THOUGH THE DARK LEGION ENEMY IS IMMUNE TO FEAR. The Dark Legion may be immune to fear as we know it, but the Apostles have ways of intimidating each other. This DOES NOT apply if, for whatever reason, the models are allied to the same Apostle. 

FORCES AND STANDARDS 

* Brotherhood and Mishima forces may have Unit Standards. 

* Capitol, Imperial and Bauhaus may have Corporate Standards. Imperial Berserkers may still have their own Standard Bearers, using the rules in Chronicles of War. 

* Algeroth, Ilian, Demnogonis and Muawijhe may have Dark Legion Standards. 

* Cybertronic, Cartel forces and Dark Legion forces of mixed Apostles may not have any of the Standards described here. Cybertronic is too cold and logical to benefit from such "pointless" displays. The Cartel has enough trouble coordinating rival Corporations without such displays to revive old grudges. The Dark Legion, similarly, has enough of its rivalries as it is. 

* Dark Eden forces do not use the Standards described here, but instead use their own rules for Standards as applicable. 

ADVANCED RULES 

Normally, when the Standard Bearer goes down, the standard is out of play, and that is that. However, it would seem appropriate that if the flag goes down, someone next in line would try to pick it up to keep "Old Glory" still flying. For simplicity, one might choose to abstract the game and assume that the banner is destroyed with the carrier. But for those who can swallow the lengthy set of rules above and still want more, here are some advanced rules for handling the Standard if the Bearer goes down. 

* IF THE BEARER GOES DOWN: The Standard is still in play, and should be represented by a separate marker to indicate its location. (A toothpick and piece of paper painted up as the flag would serve nicely.) If the Standard Bearer is healed before his next activation and returns to play, he can pick up the Standard automatically. 

* PICKING UP THE STANDARD: Picking up the fallen Standard requires one action, provided that there are no enemies also in base contact with the Standard. If there are any enemies in base contact with the Standard, a Strength contest is required, just as if the model trying to take up the Standard were trying to Break Away. The model carrying the Standard is subject to the normal restrictions of a Standard Bearer, being unable to Hide, only able to use a one-handed weapon, etc. It IS possible for models that cannot normally be equipped with Standards to pick it up, such as a model with Commando Training, etc. Flying models may carry Standards, but they will confer no bonus, as the flag will have to be furled to fly with it without presenting a hazard. 

* HANDING OFF THE STANDARD: The Battle Standard may be handed off to another model in base contact by spending a single action -- either on the part of the model doing the handing off, or the model which is going to take it. 

* STEALING THE STANDARD: A Standard cannot be forceably taken from a Standard Bearer without first overpowering the Standard Bearer -- or using some means that specifically can steal an item of equipment. If a Standard Bearer is prone (reduced to 0 Wounds, "knocked unconscious", "knocked over", etc.) then the Standard can be taken as if the Standard Bearer were dead. 

* ENEMY HANDS: A Battle Standard, while in enemy hands, does not offer any Leadership or Fear benefit to any model. 

* MISHIMA STANDARDS: Mishima Battle Standards cannot be handed off. Once the Bearer goes down, the Standard is out of play, period. 

* UNIT STANDARDS: A Unit Standard, if taken up again, only confers a bonus to members of the squad that owns the Standard. If that squad gets wiped out, you can't just have another infantry squad take the Standard as their own. 

* CORPORATE STANDARDS: Corporate Standards can be picked up again by a member of the same force, to maintain their benefit. However, it is an especially demoralizing blow should the Corporate Standard be captured by the enemy. Should a Corporate Standard fall into the possession of the enemy, the enemy will get 1 Victory Point, even if the enemy with the flag is taken down during the course of battle, or leaves the table. This can only be countered if the Corporate Standard is regained again -- at which point the 1 Victory Point no longer applies. However, it IS possible for the flag to change hands several times during the course of a battle. (It might make a suitable scenario to have two sides with Corporate Standards, and make the Victory Point total for having the enemy's Standard worth considerably more, as the objective of the battle.) Please note that if the Standard Bearer dies to an attack that would turn him into a member of the enemy -- i.e., he becomes a Screaming Legionnaire, Blessed Legionnaire, or is Corrupted -- then the Standard has automatically fallen into enemy hands! 

* BURNING THE FLAG -- OPTIONAL RULE: While the Standard is being carried by a model, for purposes of abstraction, save for attacks specifically against mundane equipment, the Standard is indestructible. While the Standard is fallen, or while it is in the hands of an enemy, it may be specifically attacked. Explosions, grenades (not gas or bacteria!) and flamethrower attacks may be used against the Standard. Basically, if it hits, don't bother rolling for Armor -- The Standard has none, and will be instantly destroyed. Bullet attacks do not count. Any close combat attack against the unguarded Standard automatically succeeds. (Thus, a Standard captured by the enemy can be automatically destroyed by spending one action. However, this nullifies one's Victory Point gained by capturing the Standard. It's far more demoralizing to parade the captured flag around than to burn it on the spot. Save that for the after-battle celebration...) 

* DARK LEGION STANDARDS: Fear is fear. A Dark Legion standard may be taken up again by another model from the same force, even if it is not a member of the same squad. Whichever squad is carrying the fear-causing Standard will get the benefit of its effects. Corporate forces or those of another Apostle, however, gain no benefit from carrying the recovered Standard. 

* REPRESENTATION: Since it is impractical to have an alternate "flag carrying" version of every trooper in your force, it is a good idea to have a separate "flag" to represent the Standard when carried by another model. This may be done either by making the flag so that it can simply be leaned against the carrying model, or else affix it to a stand-alone base which is put into base contact with the model, with the understanding that this represents it being carried by the model. 

--- T. Jordan "Greywolf" Peacock -- greywolf@fox.org * mecha@gate.net --- 

